Table Of Content

He had a very lucrative law practice and owned plantations in 3 states totaling over 100,000 acres where about 300 slaves raised cotton, timber, and livestock. Beautifully renovated, once used as a home as well as a successful Bed & Breakfast. Home is on the National Historic register and is located in a National Register Historic District (historic downtown Byahlia). The Ypsilanti Historical Museum is a museum of local history which is presented as an 1860 home. The Museum and Fletcher-White Archives are organized and operated by the Ypsilanti Historical Society. We are all volunteers and our membership is open to everyone, including non-city residents.
Homestead Cottage - Chatsworth
The airy, bright Conservatory and secluded Castle Garden offer the perfect setting. The Conservatory features floor to ceiling windows, with colorful tile floors and an elegant marble fountain. Our private Castle Garden features a brick walkway which creates the perfect aisle and a working tiered fountain.
Find Historic Homes for Sale.
Bothwell Lodge was an appropriate gift to the state from a man who brought so much to his adopted state. This site preserves the homes of Muskegon's most famous lumber baron, Charles H. Hackley, and his business partner, Thomas Hume. Built between 1887 and 1889, these homes are the finest examples of Queen Anne architecture in the United States. The Hackley House has been restored to its 1889 appearance and the Hume house has been restored to its 1920s appearance. Joshua Dickinson built this home in 1869, 10 years before he was elected the first mayor of Mount Clemens. The town's folk held another election and elected his son-in-law, George Crocker, who lived in this home with him and his daughter Katherine.
Heritage Museum of Orange County
Two stories high, the foyer is dominated by a curving double stairway leading up to the grand reception area. The principal rooms retain their architectural detail as well as many original decorative features. Walls shelter a formal garden, well-known for its grove of European linden trees that shade a pebbled courtyard, which combines with a rambling side garden to make Meridian House one of Washington's finest settings for outdoor events. Today the museum is open for public tours and programs, and may be rented for special events. Heurich's castle, the District's first fireproof house, is listed on the National Register and is considered one of the most intact Victorian houses in the country.
1895 home of Kalispell's founding family, Charles and ALicia Conrad, filled with original furnishings, books, toys, clothing and effects. And Mary Whaley's home on East Kearsley Street is representative of the establishment of the upper class in Flint, Michigan during the Victorian era. The home exhibits the transition between the community's lumbering and agricultural era to the establishment and rise of heavy industry.
Cairnwood Estate
The garden is maintained using eighteenth century propagation methods and gardening techniques, such as hand pruning and the use of natural fertilizers and pesticides, thus serving as a sanctuary for a variety of migrating birds. In June and July, our butterfly bush attracts monarchs, swallowtails, and other species, and our bee hive is home to a thriving colony of honey bees which produce a modest amount of honey for our educational programs. The Bingham-Waggoner Estate is truly a one-of-a-kind gem located near the historic downtown of Independence, Missouri. Although the Truman Presidential Library and Harry and Bess Truman's home are popular sites, the Bingham-Waggoner Estate offers its own special look into an earlier era.
History
The Driehaus Museum is housed in the historic Samuel Mayo Nickerson Mansion. Built from 1879 to 1883, the Marble Palace, as the house became known, was one of the grandest residential buildings of 19th-Century Chicago. Steeped in history, the Nickerson House survives today as one of Chicago's most extraordinary historic homes.
Other vendors in Washington DC for your wedding
Together, the various motifs and themes create a unique artistic unity, one that is difficult to categorize. If you don't want to run a business, it could be quickly converted to a residence consisting of five bedrooms and two full baths for a total of 11 rooms. The conversion would be easy - just move out the equipment you don't want and move in your furniture. There would not be a lot of cleaning and or repainting unless you want to change the color. There is a large 3 car attached garage, a three-sided storage shed and an additional retail building "The Outpost" with Highway 380 frontage that can be used as a store, rental or what have you. One of the best-preserved 19th Century townhouses in America, home of renowned fur trader Robert Campbell and his family from 1854 until 1938.
The mansions (more like "living museums" with time period furnishings), grounds, pavilion, and adjacent structures are available for touring and use throughout the year. Meadow Brook Hall is the fourth largest historic house museum in the United States and is renowned for its superb craftsmanship, architectural detailing and grand scale. And Nina Fletcher Little, preeminent collectors of American folk art in the mid 20th century. In 1937, the Littles purchased this 18th-century farmhouse overlooking the Essex River as a family retreat and place to entertain. They restored it carefully, preserving original 18th-century finishes and carefully documenting their work.
Robert Todd Lincoln named his new home Hildene meaning "hill" and "valley." Hildene would be Mr. Lincoln's summer home for the next 21 years and would be the only house in America where all of Abraham Lincoln's descendants would eventually reside. The Compass Inn started out as a drover's inn along an offshoot of historic Forbes Road near Ligonier, Pennsylvania. By 1820, the structure featured a 'luxurious' stone addition and several outbuildings which helped serve thousands of stagecoach travelers on the Philadelphia-Pittsburgh Turnpike, now historic Lincoln Highway/Route 30.
There is also a Garden House on the property that was occupied by Dion Neutra and his family. Tours of the VDL House are conducted on Saturdays by architecture students from Cal Poly Pomona. George Washington’s beloved Mount Vernon began as a one and one-half story farmhouse built in 1735 by his father, Augustine, and received its well-known name during the ownership of his half-brother Lawrence.
Inside the Heurich House, home of the 'original hipster' - The Washington Post
Inside the Heurich House, home of the 'original hipster'.
Posted: Thu, 14 Jul 2016 07:00:00 GMT [source]
Our work brings these voices to the forefront through artfully executed exhibitions, illustrative visual identities, and thoughtfully planned visitor experiences - creating influential connections between stories and space. Built in 1683 and occupied by Caleb Pusey, this is the only building still standing which can claim documented association with the Proprietor, William Penn, and which he is known to have visited on several occasions. This unique English Vernacular house stands beside Race Street, the small road once paralleling the millrace that brought water from Chester Creek to power the mills. The Hezekiah Alexander House is listed on the National Register of Historic Places and is the last extant home of a framer of North Carolina's 1776 Constitution and Bill of Rights.It is also the oldest house standing in Mecklenburg County. This permanent exhibition that investigates the 240-year old house, the persons who owned it, and the story of its preservation as a powerful setting for educational programs. The Frederic Remington Art Museum is housed in the historic Parish Mansion since 1923.
Korner's Folly"The Strangest House in the World" as described in 1997 by Preservation magazine. This undeniably unique house is a creative wonder of artistry, workmanship, and design. Located in Kernersville, the Heart of the Triad, Korner's Folly is the showcase home of decorator, designer, and painter Jule Gilmer Korner.
The cats about the home and grounds are descendants of the cats he kept while he lived in the house, including many extra-toed (polydactyls), like the one Papa Hemingway loved. The White-Meyer House, a red brick mansion adjacent to Meridian House, was built in 1911 by Ambassador Henry White and later purchased by Eugene Meyer, the owner of the Washington Post. The large rooms of this splendid building have been renovated and restored to their original glory. The main floor includes a spacious entry hall, sitting room, drawing room, library, and dining room, all of which are interconnected. A majestic, columned terrace, accessible from the library and dining room, has a lovely view of Washington, particularly at night.
An avid collector, he filled the mansion with artwork, antique furnishings, tapestries, porcelain and silver. As stipulated in his will, when Mrs. Cuneo died in 1990, the mansion, its collections and the surrounding estate was opened to the public and administered by the Cuneo Foundation. Concerts, lectures, art fairs and a classic car show are staged in the mansion or on the beautiful grounds.
There are 55 rooms, including 10 bedrooms, 12 bathrooms, 7 fireplaces, and 3 kitchens. Part of the Old Salem restoration, the Single Brothers' House was built in 1769 and housed the single men of the Moravian town of Salem, N.C. The house is part of one of the nation's largest and most authentic living history restorations, which includes many other 18th century buildings that were part of the colonial town. The Morris-Jumel Mansion was built in 1765 as a summer villa, by Colonel Roger Morris and his wife, Mary Philipse.
No comments:
Post a Comment